Prayer isn’t a Slam…Stop Talking and Start Praying

Bible

As I write this I can practically hear the devil telling me that I am going to offend someone, and that this subject is too controversial. Regardless here it is… .

Prayer

A powerful word. A word with great meaning. A word that represents a conversation, a relationship. A word that to Christians comprises a major component of their faith and their walk with a living savior.

Unfortunately, it is a word that is not given the reverence it deserves.

Somehow the phrase “I’ll pray for you” has gone from a heartfelt act to a hateful, smart alec slam. And not only does it break my heart, but it makes me mad.

Prayer is a powerful thing.

Prayer leads to Salvation.

Prayer can comfort.

Prayer can heal.

Prayer can change things.

 

I think everyone has conversations in their marriage that they will never forget. One that I will likely never forget is a conversation that my husband and I had about the power of prayer….Exodus Chapter 32 tells of the Israelites betraying God and worshiping a golden calf when Moses was gone to mount Sinai. God was rightfully angered and told Moses in verse 10 “Now therefore let me alone, that my wrath may wax hot against them and that I may consume them…”

But Moses did something. He had a conversation with God!  He pleaded with God. Verses 11-13 tell of how Moses  “besought the Lord his God.” And Moses’ conversation changed God’s mind. Verse 14 says, “And the Lord repented of the evil which he thought to do unto his people.”

As my husband put it: This story lets me know that prayer can change God’s mind.

Things were different in Moses time, but now thanks to Jesus and the Holy Ghost we too can have a conversation with God…its called prayer.

Like so many things in today’s society we have taken something serious and special and turned it into a joke.

If you tell someone that you are going to pray for them, let it be out of love. I cannot and will not tell you how to pray, but as I Christian I want you to know that prayer isn’t a way to gossip. Prayer isn’t a way to show that you are better than someone.

Prayer IS a conversation with a living God.

Prayer IS real.

Prayer IS powerful.

Lets all agree to stop using this wonderful gift that God has given us, the ability to converse directly with our Savior, as a slam to hurt or show our superiority. Lets all agree that this world needs more honest, heartfelt prayer. Lets all agree to stop talking about one another and start talking to God.

 

2 thoughts on “Prayer isn’t a Slam…Stop Talking and Start Praying

Leave a Reply

